July 12, 2010

Hurray for Birthday!

Posted in Trek through Italy at 7:28 AM by goingbeyondzebra

So my birthday was on July 7th. That’s right, I got to spend my birthday in the beautiful land of Italy! Pretty impressive, huh?

The day began early; I had been planning for the past week to make breakfast for everyone at the office, so I needed to be prepared. The menu: Chocolate Raspberry French toast, scrambled eggs, and sausage. After showering and devotions, I gathered the items I would need together and headed to the office.

I didn’t really make it well known that it was my birthday. Since one of the interns was leaving on the same day and everyone was extremely busy preparing stuff for Transform, I didn’t see the need to make a big fuss. My parents, however, made sure at least a few people knew.

I arrived at the office and spread my supplies out in the kitchen. After whipping, slicing, cutting and jammifying for several minutes, my parents came on skype and I was able to talk to them as I continued on my breakfast assault. They wished me a very merry birthday and I was glad that we were able to talk before they went to bed (it is very odd being 9 hours apart). They also made sure that Tiffany and the Harrells knew it was my birthday before we were off our call, as they had also now arrived at the office. Susan had come already prepared with a banner and as Tiffany and I worked, other OMers arrived and the banner was hung.

Breakfast went very well overall. Everyone seemed to enjoy it and it was a lot of fun to make (though I had never really cooked for that many people before, there were close to twenty of us). And since it was my birthday, they wouldn’t let me do the dishes! A pleasant treat. I spent a vast majority of the rest of the day editing the prayer guide book that Tiffany and I have been working on writing. At lunch though, everyone sang happy birthday to me and we were able to celebrate with some gelato brought by Rick and Susan. Yay gelato! Mmmm….

That evening we also had a book study about the “Lies We Believe” that we’ve been doing for the past couple of weeks. Usually it happens on a Tuesday, but on Tuesday we had a going away party for the intern who was leaving, Kaylee. So we moved the study to Wednesday night. We decided early on to take turns cooking each night we had the Bible study, this week was the boys’ turn. They made stuffed peppers, pasta, and tiramisu, all of which were quite good!

So my birthday went pretty well overall. I got to talk to my parents and my boyfriend, which was really nice. I even received a card in the mail from my presents, and the next day a gift arrived from them: On Beyond Zebra by Dr. Seuss (the book that this blog is named after)! I was very excited and surprised when it came and I read it right away. I even made my boyfriend listen to me read it out loud to him a few days later 😀

And that was my birthday! Other than that not much has been going on, everyone has mostly been trying to get last-minute things done for Transform, and the first bunch of OM Italy people leave for Rome on Wednesday. It’s almost here! The lease on the apartment that Tiff and I are sharing runs out on the 19th I believe, so we are going to be moving all our stuff to the Harrells this Saturday. I can’t believe I’ve been here for over a month!

Here are some things you can be praying for:

  1. That everyone will be getting enough rest as Transform approaches, and throughout the conference and outreaches afterwards
  2. That God will remove any stress or aggravation that anyone may be feeling
  3. For the final details and fine tunings to fall into place
  4. For the safety of the people coming from all over the world over the next week or so to participate in Transform
  5. That each person will be given a “peace beyond understanding” throughout this stressful time, and that God will be preparing the hearts of all those who are going to be hearing His message
  6. For God to be guiding all the words, pictures, and messages that are going to be formed and spread out in the coming weeks

Well that’s all for now. If you have any questions about what I’m doing or what’s going on over here in Italy, feel free to post them in the comments section and I will try to answer them. Farewell everyone, I hope you each have a wonderful zebra of a day!

Robyn

1 Comment »

  1. Linda said,

    A belated happy birthday! I have so enjoyed all of your entries. It will be fun for you to have them, as you look back on this time.


Leave a Reply

