May 15, 2011

Zooming Along

Posted in Random Ramblings, Wedding Wonders at 12:10 PM by goingbeyondzebra

Following are my attempts to encompass the past two months in as few words as possible. Ready…Go!

1. I have a job! The volunteer position at Meet Justice thankfully turned into a paid position at the end of March. I started out working two days a week, which went to three days a week the second day I was in the office, and now has been bumped up to four days in-office with any extra time I can give at home. It’s amazing! Literally the best paid job I have ever had. I am writing, working as a social media administrator, and helping with office projects and fundraising campaigns. In about two weeks I will also be assisting in overseeing our summer interns. Since we are dealing with human trafficking it is an emotionally stressful job, but the work itself is great, if hectic at times. Be sure to check out the website www.meetjustice.org, which is updated twice a week with new blogs/news. If you are on facebook, you can like our Meet Justice page  for daily updates as well. That is, if you feel drawn to this cause at all (but certainly don’t feel pressured to do so!).

2. Mark has been continuing to stay busy with work and school. He didn’t have time to fully train for the triathlon he was hoping to do this summer, so he decided not to participate in that. Work has been a bit stressful due to issues with people, and he is still learning how to balance a full time job while devoting the attention needed to schoolwork. He has discovered that this church is rather different than the one he worked with before, so he is facing some problems dealing with “church politics” and trying to keep people happy while still doing what he thinks God wants him to do. Be keeping him in your prayers, that God will soften people’s attitudes and that Mark will continue to do his best to follow God’s will. June will be filled with different camps and youth activities, so be praying for those as well.

3. Wedding activities are coming along well! We have hit a bit of a glitch when trying to find an affordable photographer, which I wasn’t entirely expecting, but it looks like there may be some possibilities. Other than that everything is moving forward, we have our Save-the-Dates, which look AWESOME, and have our invitations picked out. Mark has asked almost all of his groomsmen now, and so far everyone has said yes! We are very fortunate to be surrounded by such amazing, supportive, and loving friends and family. What a blessing!

So how did I do? Not the shortest update, but certainly not the longest! I am so thankful to have a job now. Even though it isn’t the most fantastic pay in the world, the working environment is wonderful and I am getting great experience, as well as the opportunity to write regularly! Mark and I only get to see each other once or twice a month now that we are both so busy, but we try to make the most of our times together. We are less than seven months away from the “big day” and over nine months into our engagement. I can’t believe it has been almost a year!

As summer approaches I have started to be reminded of where I was this time last year: preparing to leave the country on a new, three-month adventure. At times I do feel pangs of longing for Italy, but I also enjoy the season of life that God has put me in right now. Mark and I both hope to return to the country that was such an important part of our lives eventually, one way or another.

Well that’s about it! Now that I am starting to get into a new routine of things I hope to update on a more regular basis, but I don’t make any promisesJ.

May you all have a blessed, going-beyond-zebra of a day!

Robyn

P.S. You may have noticed I changed my blog background! I wanted something a little cleaner looking, with a tad more professionalism, while still keeping some personality. What do you think?

1 Comment »

  1. Kat said,

    I love the background!


Leave a Reply

