April 9, 2012

Four Months!

Posted in Life as a Mrs. at 9:28 PM by goingbeyondzebra

Tomorrow Mark and I will hit the four month anniversary of being married! Holy smokes! This strikes me as almost completely unbelievable.

We have been settling nicely into life as a married couple. Spats have occurred, but so far we’ve been able to work through them without too much difficulty. With our “settling” we noticed that our diet and exercise were both heading in the wrong direction, so for the past couple of weeks we have been working on intentionally eating better and getting more exercise. We’ve even gone running 4 times in the past eight days! Can you believe it? Me! Running! On a regular basis! This is something I never imagined would ever happen, at least not before pigs flew, or Antarctica melted, or people stopped thinking that an English degree=a teaching degree….you know, something completely implausible. Since I don’t have access to a gym, running is about the best form of exercise available to me though, and it is much nicer when you have someone doing it with you.

Yesterday was Easter, so with it came a very busy past couple of weeks. We had the Easter Concert for church choir, then Holy Week services every day, and finally Easter Sunday which started at 7:00 AM (Sunrise Service!) and went till noon. Mark and I actually taught Sunday School together for all of the youth on Sunday. We talked about the importance of the tearing of the veil when Christ died; I discussed the history of the veil as found in the Old Testament, and Mark discussed the significance of it tearing, etc. I think overall it went well! The youth seemed to respond some at least. After church Mark and I came back home and had a nice meal with just the two of us. Our menu consisted of venison steaks, homemade coleslaw (Mark’s special recipe), baked beans, “Resurrection” eggs (Deviled eggs), Easter Rolls, and strawberries with kiwis. It was all very delicious and we were very full by the time we were finished. It was my first time making Deviled eggs without my mom, and I think they turned out very well, though not quite like hers. The Easter Rolls were a new recipe and didn’t turn out exactly how I was hoping, but they were good and I think I know how to tweak it to make them more how I was expecting next time.

A few weeks ago I “dyed” my hair with a natural dye called Henna, which is derived completely from plants and is very beneficial vs. harmful to your hair. It gives hair a red tint, so now I have a nice warm brown/auburn color with brighter red highlights. I was nervous at first but I am very pleased with the results!  The more you layer the color, the more intense it gets, so I may do it again in a few months to get it to look even more red. My friend Kathy came and helped me (with my thick hair, it would be rather difficult to goop it all onto myself) and she brought her husband and two little ones with her. It was great getting to see them all again! Her little girls are adorable and are growing up so fast. It seems like just yesterday they were announcing that they were having their first child! Ah well, how time flies…

In other hair news, I have now gone completely shampoo-conditioner free for about a month now, and I am loving it! I plan on doing a separate blog post soon about this experience, so I will leave it at that for now.

The Farmer’s Market started last week here in town. I have been looking forward to this all winter! It runs on Tuesdays and I missed it last week but plan on going every week from now on until it closes. One of the ladies at church sells bread at the market, and through a series of events we found out that to sell at the market all you have to do is pay $5, fill out a form, and bring your stuff to set up! Because it is a farmer’s market, you don’t have to have your kitchen inspected or anything if you want to sell food. So, I have decided to start selling baked goods! It will take a couple of weeks before I start; I have a lot of calculations to figure and things to organize, etc., but I am very excited, and nervous! The whole thing was partially Mark’s idea, so he is very supportive of everything, which is such a blessing.

Mark is working hard on finishing up his last semester of graduate classes and looking into internships. There is one internship in Pennsylvania that looks very promising at the moment that starts in January and directly deals with the type of people he would like to work with long-term. The church has been very understanding thus far about his schedule and the uncertainty of when exactly he will be leaving, which is great. They have started a search committee to find his replacement for when the time comes, which makes Mark feel a little awkward, but he understands. He did a great job putting the choir’s Easter concert together and everyone seemed to really enjoy it. Soon the youth group summer events will be taking off with a vengeance; it is going to be a very busy summer! Thankfully he will be completely finished with classes in May, so he won’t have to be taking summer classes in the midst of everything like he had to last year. I am so proud of him!

Our cat Salem is adorable as ever. His biggest drawback so far is that he brought in some fleas a couple of weeks ago, and we have been frantically trying to get rid of them ever since. We’ve tried sprays, bombs, vacuuming, scrubbing the furniture down with rubbing alcohol, setting out pans of water with soap at night…they seem like they MAY be getting fewer, and we tried a few new things today, so we will see how those pan out. It has been a frustrating experience. He doesn’t like being around too many people at the same time yet, and he is still skittish around other animals, but we are trying to work on that. Bathing him is pretty easy; he even seems to get more affectionate once he dries off, which is really sweet.

Well, here are some things I have been learning through married life so far:

  • Compromise is NOT a dirty word
  • Laundry seems to multiply on its own when you aren’t looking
  • Chocolate chip cookies have magical powers that can turn you into “the best wife ever”
  • Sometimes, it is just as important to spend time together with friends as it is to spend time together alone
  • Friendly banter can be fun, as long as it is kept in check
  • Just because you have a new last name, doesn’t mean you are always going to remember it!
  • Marriage is a blessing, and I wouldn’t trade this life for the world!

That’s all for now. I hope this post finds you all in good health and doing your best to stretch the boundaries of your own lives!

Signing off,

Robyn-with-a-new-last-name

 

 

1 Comment »

  1. David Lyle said,

    If you guys will keep working this hard and having this much fun together, you will continue to have a great marriage. God bless!


Leave a Reply

