December 1, 2012

Year One Approaches

Posted in Life as a Mrs., Random Ramblings at 7:48 PM by goingbeyondzebra

Mark and I are now nearing our one year anniversary. Goodness! It’s gone by so quickly, I can hardly believe it. Since it has been a while since my last post, I have decided that I am going to try to write a series of small posts over the next ten days to catch everything up, instead of doing one majorly book-long post. So, for today, here is a bullet-type list of some of the highlights of things that have been going on for the past few months.

1. I ended my involvement in the Farmer’s Market in the beginning of August. We didn’t end up gaining any profit from it, and I had to stop because it was costing too much to continue. However, it was a great experience and I certainly learned a lot, I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I am very fortunate that Mark was so supportive throughout the process and that he helped push me to do it.

2. Mark finished his term as Youth Minister at Hardwick at the end of August, and his last official weekend we had a Discipleship Now conference with the youth. It was an amazing weekend and there were tons of youth! It was sad to have that chapter of our lives close for now, but he is continuing to be the part-time music minister at Hardwick, so at least we are getting to see everyone still.

3. Along similar lines, Mark started his Music Therapy internship in the beginning of October! He is working at Central State Hospital in Milledgeville at the Forensics Department. It wasn’t his first choice of clientele for an internship, since he wants to work with at-risk youth once he graduates, so he was a little nervous going into it. However, he has started to really enjoy it and has been learning so much. It’s been fun watching him grow even just these past couple of months as he gets to expand his musical and therapeutic talents. The internship will end in late March/early April. He is also working on his Master’s thesis/project which is concentrating on the work he wants to do with at-risk youth, and there are some people close-by to our area who have been very helpful with his research, which has been great. If all goes as planned, he will graduate this coming May!

4. I am now in the land of the employed! After papering Milledgeville with dozens of job applications, I finally found employment at a work-from-home opportunity (yes, legitimate work-from-home companies DO exist! I was a little shocked myself). It is a company called Guild Quality, and they are hired by other companies across the United States (and sometimes in Canada) to do customer satisfaction surveys. Most of the work deals with construction/landscaping/remodeling type businesses (I do a TON of surveys about windows, it’s crazy). So my job is to call the customers and fill out the survey for them. It can be interesting work, but it can be a little monotonous at times. However, I get to schedule my own hours, I’m working from home, and it is a least a little bit above minimum wage pay, so I really can’t complain.

5. Since Mark is now part-time, and my work doesn’t quite make up the difference, we also had to move at the end of October. While the internship Mark is doing doesn’t offer any pay, they do offer free “housing” in the form of two dorm rooms connected suite style by a bathroom, in their staff dorm facilities. There is a sort-of kitchen downstairs that we can use to cook (no refrigerator), but we have managed to set up a type of kitchenette in one of our rooms with a wonderful toaster oven (given to us by someone from Hardwick, and it has been a HUGE blessing) a 1950’s type smaller fridge (also lent to us by people from Hardwick, another HUGE blessing), my crockpot, microwave, Foreman grill, and breadmaker. I am still managing to crank out homemade dinners and I am adjusting to working in such an interesting set up, at times it is almost fun. I actually made Pecan Pie Bars in the toaster oven, and they turned out quite awesome. The rooms are small, about 9×9 with an 8×4 hallway area in each that contains a desk and a “closet,” but we are managing. My blessed mother came and helped us pack and move everything (I would NOT have been able to manage without her!), as did some people from Hardwick who let us borrow themselves and their trucks for moving (more huge blessings!). We get a little irritated at times since there is really no area for privacy at all, but it’s free and it’s only for a few more months, so we are managing.

6. This will get a longer post, but I did another wedding cake! My mom helped this time because it was a wedding cake, cupcakes and a very detailed groom’s cake. But everything turned out awesome, and it was fun getting to work with my mom.

7. I was finally able to meet Mark’s great-grandfather over Thanksgiving. We went down with Mark’s family to Panama City for Thanksgiving, where we all stayed in an on-the-beach condo and it was an awesome visit. On our way back home, Mark and I stopped to visit his great-grandfather Homer and his wife Eddy at their home near PC. He is 92 years old and a sweetheart! I was so glad to get to meet them and I hope we are able to visit them again in the not-to-distant future.

Well, I think that is most of the major highlights from the past few months. In there Mark also had a birthday, Hardwick had a 100 year anniversary, and I ran my first 5k with Mark. So, yeah! Be sure to be looking for more posts from me in the near future. I hope all of you are doing well and that life is full of God’s blessings for you.

See you soon!

Robyn

Leave a Reply

